Skip to product information
1 of 2


The 1975 – A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships 2LP Vinyl Record 180g (2018)

The 1975 – A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships 2LP Vinyl Record 180g (2018)

Regular price $30.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $30.00 USD
Sale Sold out

The 1975 – A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships 2LP Vinyl Record 180g (2018)

New Sealed

A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships is the third studio album by English band the 1975. It was released on 30 November 2018 by Dirty Hit and Polydor Records. Initially titled Music for Cars, the album was intended as the follow-up to I Like It When You Sleep, for You Are So Beautiful yet So Unaware of It (2016). The term later denoted an era encompassing both their third album and Notes on a Conditional Form, released in 2020. The band halted recording of the first part after lead singer Matty Healy left for a drug rehabilitation clinic in Barbados, seeking treatment for his heroin addiction. Following the singer's return, the band spent several months completing the album in Northamptonshire and Los Angeles.

A maximalist experimental album, A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships combines rock and pop music with ambient interludes. Eschewing the 1980s-influenced sound of its predecessor, the album embraces a desolate soundscape informed by electronica. Noted for its incorporation of various genres, the record heavily draws from jazz, R&B, electropop, indie rock and Britpop, among others. The songs are characterised by their electronic beats, gospel choirs, neo-soul horns and downtempo rhythms. Guest contributions are featured from the London Community Gospel Choir, No Rome, the Japanese House and Roy Hargrove.


A1 The 1975 1:34
A2 Give Yourself A Try 3:17
A4 How To Draw / Petrichor 5:49
B1 Love It If We Made It 4:13
B2 Be My Mistake 4:16
B3 Sincerity Is Scary 3:45
B4 I Like America & America Likes Me 3:26
C1 The Man Who Married A Robot / Love Theme 3:33
C2 Inside Your Mind 3:50
C3 It’s Not Living (If It’s Not With You) 4:08
C4 Surrounded By Heads And Bodies 3:56
D1 Mine 4:06
D2 I Couldn’t Be More In Love 3:51
D3 I Always Wanna Die (Sometimes) 5:14

180G Heavyweight Double Vinyl.
Gatefold cover.
Lyrics sheet.
Printed inner sleeves.
Made in Germany.

View full details